instagram facebook twitter pinterest youtube snapchat

Lunar New Year 2018

Lunar New Year 2018


(1946, 1958, 1970, 1982, 1994)

Those born in a year of the Dog (the 11th Chinese zodiac) are the most loyal and honest. They’re happiest when surrounded by friends. They are incredibly smart and are often highly regarded by others, though they can sometimes lose their temper a little too quickly.


It goes by many names (perhaps most commonly Chinese New Year) but the celebrations of the Lunar New Year remain the same across many Asian cultures like the Chinese, Vietnamese, and Koreans. Following the lunar cycle and landing between January and February of each year, Lunar New Year is a 2-week long celebration that consists of all kinds of customs and traditions from cleaning the house to buying new clothes, from tying intricate knots to eating dumplings, from lighting firecrackers to passing out or receiving those little red envelopes filled with money.

Chinese mythology tells a tale of 12 zodiacs. Each zodiac is honored every 12 years upon the commencement of a new year. And the cycle of the 12 animals remains the same.

The legend of the 12 zodiacs begins with the Jade Emperor (the Emperor in Heaven) wanting 12 animals to represent the calendar signs. Instead of picking those 12 animals, he held a race: the first 12 across the river would win.

Upon the news of the upcoming race, the Rat promised his neighbor, the Cat, that he would wake him early so they can head to the race together. The Rat forgot this promise.

Many larger and faster animals showed up for the race. Needing a plan, he jumped onto the Ox, hitching a ride across the river. Just as the Ox was to cross the finish line, the Rat jumped off, becoming the first animal to finish the race. The next 11 winners were the Ox, the Tiger, the Rabbit, the Dragon, the Snake, the Horse, the Sheep, the Monkey, the Rooster, the Dog, and finally, the Pig.

The Cat never made it to the race and consequently grew hostile towards the Rat.

At the honoring ceremony, the 12 animals were designated to a specific calendar year in the order in which they finished the race, starting with the Rat and ending with the Pig.

Every 12 years, the animal would return after the full cycle has been completed.